Council Membership

The Governor appoints members of the Council to direct and oversee the activities of the Council staff and to facilitate the distribution of Federal funds available to New York State. By Federal law, at least 60% of the members of the Council must be people with developmental disabilities, or family members of people with developmental disabilities. Our diverse membership ensures input from people with many different skills and life experiences. The CDD membership composition is directed by the DD Act of 2000 which is the authorizing law which created Councils.

The remaining members are representatives from relevant State agencies and entities that administer funds provided under Federal laws related to people with Developmental Disabilities.

Members are unpaid volunteers appointed by the Governor.


Council Member Duties

Council members have many duties. They:

  • serve on committees and subcommittees,
  • attend full Council and committee meetings,
  • take part in discussions, presentations, development of projects and initiatives,
  • review and vote on funding motions, and
  • review and approve State Plans.

Becoming a Council Member

Interested In Becoming a CDD Council Member?

If you are interested in being considered, fill out the form on this page to apply for membership.

List of Active Members

A collage of people in different poses. They are members of the CDD Caucus. In the center, it reads "CDD Caucus."



Council Chairperson

Dave Deuel


Caucus Chairperson

Shameka Andrews


Caucus Members

Mariela Adams

Naome Adam

Shameka Andrews

Peter Cole

Daniel Cunningham

Dave Deuel

David Feickert, Jr.

Bin Feng

Stuart Flaum

Shawn Fultz

Valeriya Gregory

Amanda Haught

Ketrina Hazell

Adan Islam

Vincent McLaughlin

Deidra Moore

Xavier Skeeter

Debora Thivierge


Not For Profit Representative

Josh Phelps, Aim Services, Inc.


Non-Governmental Organization Representative

Joshua Christiana, The Arc NY


University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities and Protection & Advocacy

Susan Fox, PhD - President and CEO - Westchester Institute for Human Development

Joanne F. Siegel, LCSW - Co-Director - Rose F. Kennedy University Center for Excellence

Suzannah J. Iadarola, PhD - Director - Strong Center for Developmental Disabilities

Julie M. Keegan, Esq. - Director of the Protection and Advocacy Program for Individuals with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (PADD) - Disability Rights New York


State Agency Representatives

Honorable Kerri Neifeld - Commissioner - NYS Office for People with Developmental Disabilities

Honorable Dr. Betty A. Rosa - Commissioner - NYS Education Department

Honorable Greg Olsen - Director - NYS Office for the Aging

Honorable James V. McDonald, M.D. - Commissioner - NYS Department of Health